As a certified referee I can tell you that the referee of that game got the call
wrong. He should be removed from his position as quickly as possible. The foul
is called intentionally handling the ball. I can read it from the laws of the
game right now. Accidentally touching the ball with your hand is not a foul
nonetheless a PK. It makes me so angry.
There is no evidence Borchers deliberately handled the ball. Terrible call.
That is an absolutely horrific call by the ref. I don't know when referees
will learn that "handling the ball" is not issued every time the ball
hits an arm or hand. It has to be a deliberate handling of the ball, as stated
in the rule. His hand was on the ground, trying to regain balance after a slip
and the ball touched his arm (not hand to ball). He did not go after the ball
with his arm, it was completely incidental contact and should not have been
awarded anywhere on the pitch, but even more so, not in the penalty box. This
was not a goal scoring opportunity, nor did this slight amount of contact stop a
goal opportunity. Referees really need to learn the rules better because this
opportunity went from a very low chance of scoring to an almost 80% chance by
giving a PK and he truly affected the outcome of the game by making this call.
He was wrong!