SALT LAKE CITY — UHSAA Assistant Director, Kevin Dustin, and Supervisor of Officials, Mike Petty, acknowledged a “misapplication” of a blown call in East’s 47-21 win over Olympus in the 4A semifinals Thursday.

With 1:22 remaining in the first half an East punt was muffed by an Olympus player. East eventually recovered possession after the ball had already crossed the plane of the end zone. By rule, Olympus should have been awarded a touchback instead of the touchdown that was called on the field.

“If he had possession of it than that’s a different story,” Petty said. “It was just a muff and as soon as it goes of the goal line it’s dead.”

At the time the game was tied at 14-14. East led at halftime 21-14. The rule is unique to high school. It’s handled as if the ball had traveled through the end zone, in which Olympus would retain possession from the 20-yard line.

Dustin noted that the window of opportunity to protest closed with the completion of competition. He didn’t offer any additional details of the UHSAA disciplinary procedure and whether or not the officiating crew will be reprimanded.

“We’ve visited with the officials and we’ll handle it internally.”

Email: tphibbs@deseretnews.com

Twitter: @phibbs_